Trenholm State Community College

About Trenholm State

Accreditation Administration Institutional Goals Mission Statement
Operating Hours College Purpose Resource Information Service Area P2P/Copyright Policy


H. Councill Trenholm State Technical College was created through the consolidation of John M. Patterson State Technical College with H. Councill Trenholm State Technical College. On April 27, 2000, the Alabama State Board of Education, upon the recommendation of the Chancellor of Postsecondary Education, approved the intent to merge. Since both colleges were technical colleges, the merger did not alter that status or result in any change in the role of the new entity.

The Chancellor of Postsecondary Education appointed Dr. Alma Freeman, Interim President of the newly created technical college on April 20, 2001. Dr. Larry McCoy, Interim Provost was also appointed by the Chancellor to oversee the consolidation process.

On April 26, 2001 the Alabama State Board of Education voted to name the newly created entity H. Councill Trenholm State Technical College. The College maintains two campuses: the Patterson Campus and the Trenholm Campus. The two campuses are only 8.9 miles apart. The College operates 12 months a year on a semester system, with 206 instructional days per year. It is approved for the training of veterans, and the programs are approved for federal financial aid.

Effective November 19, 2001, Dr. Anthony L. Molina was appointed President of H. Councill Trenholm State Technical College. The President administers the two major campuses and several instructional sites, 34 instructional programs and about 200 employees.

Both institutions were accredited by the Council on Occupational Education. On March 12, 2002, the Council on Occupational Education granted initial approval for the merger.

The two Colleges have a shared history in providing services for the same geographical area. In compliance with a U.S. Federal Court Order, courses were realigned in 1970 to eliminate program duplication between Patterson State Technical School and Trenholm State Technical School. Because of the court order, program offerings and personnel were shifted between the schools.

In the fall of 1989, the institutions initiated a collegiate schedule for all programs and courses. Each curriculum is composed of a series of discrete courses. Students register for and study specific courses each term. In the fall of 1998, the colleges changed from a quarter system to a semester system.

Patterson Campus

In 1947, the Alabama State Legislature passed the Regional Vocational and Trade School Act 673, thus providing for the establishment of the John M. Patterson Technical School. The Montgomery County Board of Revenue and the City of Montgomery purchased 43 acres of land at the junction of the Southern Bypass and U.S. 231 South in 1961. Construction began in that year at a cost of one million dollars. The physical facilities were initially comprised of an administration/classroom building, two shop buildings, and the cafeteria. The school was named for Governor John M. Patterson under whose administration it began.

In 1961, Mr. J. O. McCollough was appointed director of the school and served until his retirement in 1973. On September 4, 1962, the school opened and 162 students enrolled. The school continued to grow adding new programs and constructing additional buildings. Mr. J. L. Taunton was appointed president in 1973 and served until his retirement in 2000. In the year 2000, the College served over 1,700 individuals in 23 different programs.

In 1974, by action of the State Board of Education, the school was named a technical college and was permitted to award the Associate Degree in Applied Technology in certain programs. In addition, the evening class offerings were greatly expanded in late 1974.

Trenholm Campus

H. Councill Trenholm State Technical College was one of several public postsecondary occupational education institutions authorized by the Alabama State Legislature on May 3, 1963. Construction on the 35-acre site located at 1225 Air Base Boulevard began August 19, 1965, and was completed August 8, 1966, at a cost of approximately one and a quarter million dollars. The physical plant was initially comprised of an administration building and four shop buildings. The City of Montgomery and the Montgomery County Board of Revenue made financial contributions towards the construction of the cafeteria. The College was named for the late Dr. Harper Councill Trenholm, a past president of the neighboring Alabama State University.

In 1966, Mr. Lucious W. Smiley was appointed president of the school and served until 1970. The instructional staff assumed duties July 1, 1966. Classes began August 15, 1966, with an initial enrollment of 275 students. Mr. M. D. Smiley served as president from 1970 until 1981, followed by Dr. Thad McClammy from 1981 through 1995. Interim Presidents appointed by the Chancellor served from 1995 until 2001.

The College continued to grow, during the 1971-72 school year the physical plant was expanded to include the new warehouse facility and the Related Subjects Building. The Allied Health Occupations Building was completed on April 17, 1979. The Joseph Dickerson Culinary Arts and Conference Centre was officially dedicated on August 25, 1991. The new Library and Tower of Learning Building was completed and opened in 1996. In the school year 1998-99 the College had 1,295 students enrolled in 13 different programs.